Cryptozoology Museum

Great news. The International Cryptozoology Museum opened downtown Portland, Maine in November. This collector created a museum in his house, which then moved into a space to display exhibits on “living fossils”, skulls and the result of 50 years of collecting.

I’m especially interested in cryptozoology because when I was little I saw thunderbirds at my cabin. They were bigger than pictured above. They were 3 or 4 big birds that made a huge flapping noise when they flew over my head in northern Minnesota, their native habitat. I asked my dad what they were and he said he didn’t see anything, and that the biggest birds were ostriches and they can’t fly. He showed me a picture of an ostrich and it was tiny compared to what I saw. This began my obsession with ostriches, as a stand-in for an animal I didn’t understand until I heard about cryptozoology.

How did I miss this book and exhibition until now? Cryptozoology: Out of Time Place Scale is the exhibition catalog of the show of the same name at the Bates College Museum of Art, curated by Mark Bessire. It featured one of my favorite artists, Rosamond Purcell. She lives in Somerville, Mass. and makes the most intriguing work. She is the keeper of an incredible wunderkammer. It also included Joan Fontecuberta, whose work of this sort is very interesting.

A Mark Dion piece from the show.

While you’re at it, it’s probably a good idea to keep up on cryptozoology news on Cryptomundo. Enjoy! Look out for strange creatures!

One response to “Cryptozoology Museum

  1. Hey Lacey! Your post got me interested in pterosaurs. Also, I just read a comic set in the late 1800s about a bunch of guys in balloons (hunters) whose job it is to hunt down the last pterosaurs. Anyway, so I went to the Entomology, Fisheries and Wildlife library today to check out their cryptozoology encyclopedia and apparently that TOTALLY AWESOME PHOTO of the Civil War soldiers and the pterosaur is faked! It was a publicity stunt for the failed TV program FreakyLinks. Which, now I wish I would have ever seen. http://freakylinks.tv/freaky/

Leave a Reply

